Login | Sign Up
   





 
Tip and Trick Detail
Deleting Files and Folders without sending it to the Recycling Bin
*Applies to: Windows 98, 2000 and XP*

Normally, when you delete a file or a folder with it's contents it goes into the Recycling Bin. Then it eventually gets removed after a certain amount of data is placed into the Recycle Bin or is manually emptied. You can delete files on from the computer without doing it twice if you are sure you don't need them again.

Step 1 -  Select the files or folders that you wish to remove from the computer.

Step 2 -  Press and hold down the {SHIFT} key. Then press the {DELETE} key or right click and select Delete from the pop up.

Step 3 -  A message box will be displayed on the screen to make sure that you really want to delete the files. Select Yes to delete the files or No to not delete them.

Note: You must hold down the {SHIFT} key until the Windows message appears on the screen to verify your actions.